The Heisman Trophy winners list, with Marcus Mariota’s name soon to be added

Marcus Mariota is expected to make history for his state and his school on Saturday at 8 p.m. ET. Full list of previous winners below.

The 2014 Heisman Trophy winner will be announced Saturday night on ESPN, with one of three finalists joining a long list of college football greats. Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota, Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon and Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper are the finalists for the award.

Mariota is the runaway favorite as the quarterback of a Playoff team with jaw-dropping career and season stats to his name. The junior completed 68.3 percent of his passes for 3,783 yards (averaging 10.2 yards per attempt), 38 touchdowns and just two interceptions. On the ground, he ran 117 times for 669 yards and 14 touchdowns, and he even caught a 26-yard touchdown pass.

If he wins the award as expected, Mariota will be the first player from Oregon to take home the Heisman and the first native Hawaiian to win. He would be the 32nd quarterback to win the award and the 11th player from the Pac-12 Conference.

On Thursday night’s lesser awards show, Mariota won the Davey O’Brien for the nation’s best quarterback and the Maxwell and Walter Camp for the country’s best player. Adding the Heisman would make him just the sixth player to win all four.

The full list of winners:

Heisman winners
Year Name School Position
1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago RB
1936 Larry Kelley Yale END
1937 Clinton Frank Yale QB
1938 Davey O’Brien TCU QB
1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa RB
1940 Tom Harmon Michigan RB
1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota RB
1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia RB
1943 Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame QB
1944 Les Horvath Ohio State HB
1945 Felix “Doc” Blanchard Army FB
1946 Glenn Davis Army RB
1947 John Lujack Notre Dame QB
1948 Doak Walker SMU RB
1949 Leon Hart Notre Dame END
1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State RB
1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton RB
1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma RB
1953 John Lattner Notre Dame RB
1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin RB
1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State RB
1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame QB
1957 John David Crow Texas A&M RB
1958 Pete Dawkins Army RB
1959 Billy Cannon Louisiana State RB
1960 Joe Bellino Navy RB
1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse RB
1962 Terry Baker Oregon State QB
1963 Roger Staubach Navy QB
1964 John Huarte Notre Dame QB
1965 Mike Garrett USC RB
1966 Steve Spurrier Florida QB
1967 Gary Beban UCLA QB
1968 O.J. Simpson USC RB
1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma FB
1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford QB
1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn QB
1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska RB
1973 John Cappelletti Penn State RB
1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State RB
1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State RB
1976 Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh RB
1977 Earl Campbell Texas RB
1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma RB
1979 Charles White USC RB
1980 George Rogers South Carolina RB
1981 Marcus Allen USC RB
1982 Herschel Walker Georgia RB
1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska RB
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College QB
1985 Bo Jackson Auburn RB
1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami QB
1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame WR
1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State RB
1989 Andre Ware Houston QB
1990 Ty Detmer Brigham Young QB
1991 Desmond Howard Michigan WR
1992 Gino Torretta Miami QB
1993 Charlie Ward Florida State QB
1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado RB
1995 Eddie George Ohio State RB
1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida QB
1997 Charles Woodson Michigan CB
1998 Ricky Williams Texas RB
1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin RB
2000 Chris Weinke Florida State QB
2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska QB
2002 Carson Palmer USC QB
2003 Jason White Oklahoma QB
2004 Matt Leinart USC QB
2005 Reggie Bush* USC RB
2006 Troy Smith Ohio State QB
2007 Tim Tebow Florida QB
2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma QB
2009 Mark Ingram Alabama RB
2010 Cam Newton Auburn QB
2011 Robert Griffin III Baylor QB
2012 Johnny Manziel Texas A&M QB
2013 Jameis Winston Florida State QB

* Returned

December 12, 2014 by : Posted in Uncategorized No Comments

Leave a Reply