Louisiana-Lafayette wins same bowl 4 years in a row, setting NCAA record

It takes some circumstance to go to the same bowl game that many years in a row, but it takes a solid program to win each time.

Mark Hudspeth’s Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin’ Cajuns have beaten Nevada, 16-3, to win the New Orleans Bowl for the fourth year in a row. The Wolf Pack join Tulane, East Carolina, and San Diego State on the list of Ragin’ Cajun victims in the Superdome.

And depending on how you define bowl games, ULL is now either the first program to win the same NCAA bowl four times in a row or the first one to do so with a stipulation or two.

Another NCAA team has won a bowl four years in a row: Delaware won the Boardwalk from 1968 to 1971. (At the time, the Boardwalk was the equivalent of a Division II regional championship, but still functioned as a bowl. Also, Division II did not exist until 1973.) And another has won a bowl four times in a row, with Tuskegee winning the Pioneer four times between 2005 and 2009, but the game was canceled in 2008.

However, the Ragin’ Cajuns are the first team to win the same top-division NCAA bowl four years in a row. And few teams at any level have done it even three. The list:

  • Alabama, Sugar, 1978-1980
  • Arizona State, Fiesta, 1971-1973
  • Boise State, Las Vegas, 2010-2012
  • Marshall, Motor City, 1998-2000
  • Miami (Ohio), Citrus, 1973-1975
  • Oklahoma, Orange, 1979-1981
  • Old Dominion, Oyster, 2011-2013
  • Nebraska, Orange, 1971-1973
  • Tennessee State, Vulcan, 1945-1947
  • Toledo, Citrus, 1969-1971
  • Toledo, Glass, 1946-1948
  • USC, Rose, 2007-2009

And one that technically won a bowl as many as eight times in a row, but …

  • Florida A&M, Orange Blossom Classic, multiple (FAMU had three streaks of three or more wins, including one from 1971 to 1978 — however, FAMU automatically played in the game every year, meaning it wasn’t a traditional bowl invitational setup)

This doesn’t count non-NCAA bowl games, such as junior college or NAIA games, and it doesn’t count games called bowls that are playoff finals, such as the Division III Stagg Bowl.

December 20, 2014 by : Posted in Uncategorized No Comments

Leave a Reply