La Liga schedule and preview, Week 14: The usual suspects are floating to the top

After an entertaining start to the season, Real Madrid, Barcelona and Atlético Madrid are slowly turning the title race into a three team affair.

Slowly but surely the proverbial cream is rising to the top of the La Liga table. Real Madrid certainly deserve to be first, Barcelona have done enough in general to be a close second, and Atlético Madrid have hit their stride after a slow start to the season. Despite solid play both Sevilla and Valencia have begun to slip behind, seemingly setting us on the path towards another three team race for the title.

All three of those top teams face winnable matches this round with Real Madrid’s match against Celta Vigo the toughest, at least on paper. Celta have been consistent so far this year, sitting in 8th place and right on the cusp of the battle for Europa League spots. Atléti have the easiest match with a trip to face 19th-placed Elche.

Speaking of the Europa League, a solid tussle is developing behind the leaders for Spain’s places in Europe. Sevilla and Valencia are set to be contenders, but seeing Málaga and Celta there is a pleasant surprise. There’s still a long way to go, but new blood in the battle for Europe is always a good thing.

Valencia must bounce back from a soul crushing stoppage time defeat to Barca last week with a trip to face Granada, while Sevilla are away against Rayo Vallecano.

Here’s the full schedule for week 14 in Spain.

Saturday, December 6

Elche vs. Atlético Madrid | 10 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. CEST

Athletic Club vs. Córdoba | 12 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CEST

Real Madrid vs. Celta Vigo | 2 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Deportivo La Coruña vs. Málaga | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, December 7

Rayo Vallecano vs. Sevilla | 6 a.m. ET, 12 p.m. CEST

Barcelona vs. Espanyol | 11 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Villarreal vs. Real Sociedad | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Granada vs. Valencia | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Monday, December 8

Eibar vs. Almería | 11 a.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Levante vs. Getafe | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

December 5, 2014 by : Posted in Uncategorized No Comments

Leave a Reply