FA Cup draw, third round: Arsenal and Hull play repeat of last season’s final

All the fixtures for the upcoming FA Cup third round.

The third round proper of the FA Cup won’t be played for another month, but the teams still involved in the competition learned their fates on Monday.

The marquee game of the round is undoubtedly Hull City vs. Arsenal, a rematch of last season’s final. There are three other matches between two Premier League sides: Tottenham Hotspur vs. Burnley, Leicester City vs. Newcastle and Everton vs. West Ham United.

AFC Wimbledon, the side reborn from the ashes of the team that famously moved to Milton Keynes, has a huge opportunity to record their most famous win since refounding themselves and reclaiming the original Wimbledon’s history. They’ll host Liverpool in South London. Manchester United, West Bromwich Albion and Crystal Palace join them in playing much smaller opposition.

There are 64 teams in this round of the competition, with 44 entering from England’s top two divisions and 20 qualifying from earlier rounds. Seven replays from the second round still need to be played, so the exact field of 64 won’t be known until December 16. FA Cup third round games will be played during the first weekend in January. In the event of a tie in the FA Cup, there are replays at the first available date at the opposite ground. Ties go to extra time in the event of a draw in the replay.

3rd round draw

Arsenal vs. Hull City
Southampton vs. Ipswich Town
Stoke City vs. Wrexham
Charlton Athletic vs. Blackburn Rovers
Dover Athletic vs. Crystal Palace
AFC Wimbledon vs. Liverpool
Manchester City vs. Sheffield Wednesday
Aldershot or Rochdale vs. Nottingham Forest
West Bromwich Albion vs. Gateshead
Blyth Spartans vs. Birmingham City
Aston Villa vs. Blackpool
Rotherham vs. Bournemouth
Huddersfield vs. Reading
Oxford United or Tranmere Rovers vs. Swansea City
Cardiff City vs. Colchester United
Bolton Wanderers vs. Wigan Athletic
Sunderland vs. Leeds United
Burnley vs. Tottenham Hotspur
Millwall vs. Bradford City
Derby County vs. Southport
Brentford vs. Brighton and Hove Albion
Fulham vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers
Leicester City vs. Newcastle United
Scunthorpe United or Worcester City vs. Chesterfield
Everton vs. West Ham United
Cambridge United or Mansfield Town vs. Bury or Luton Town
Chelsea vs. Watford
Barnsley or Chester vs. Middlesbrough
Queens Park Rangers vs. Sheffield United
Accrington Stanley or Yeovil Town vs. Manchester United
Preston North End vs. Norwich City
Doncaster Rovers vs. Bristol City

December 8, 2014 by : Posted in Uncategorized No Comments

Leave a Reply