Bundesliga schedule and preview, week 15: Bayern Munich face tough test at Augsburg

Round 15 features showdowns between teams doing their best to stay in European contention.

You’ve got just a few short days left to get in your Bundesliga watching, before Germany takes a break for one entire, long, lonely month. Fortunately, with so much crowding in the Champions League places, as well as so many teams fighting desperately to escape the drop, there’s plenty to keep fans interested over these next few rounds.

As for Week 16, here’s what’s best to watch.

Hoffenheim vs. Eintracht Frankfurt

Watch: GolTV (USA and Canada); ESPN UK
The week starts out with what could well be the highest-scoring match of the weekend — or, because the ball is round, the only goalless draw. But these two sides, sitting just a point apart, enjoy knocking them in while caring little if the other side does the same. It should be an enjoyable way to start the week.

Augsburg vs. Bayern Munich

Watch: GolTV (USA and Canada)
What’s that you say? Augsburg are in third? Yeah, we don’t know how it happened, either. Except for the fact Gladbach and Leverkusen dropped points recently, and Schalke had a poor start to the season. About all that can be said for the hosts is they’re more controlled than the other top sides in Germany, scoring less but also conceding few goals. That’s not likely to be enough to take all three points from the league leaders, however, considering Bayern seem to be able to score at any time, from anywhere.

Mainz 05 vs. Stuttgart

Watch: GolTV (USA and Canada)
Why put a more thrilling match into the select Saturday spot when you can show the team sitting dead last paying a visit to a side that’s failed to win their last six matches? Whoever decides the Bundesliga schedule must have a twisted sense of humor. Watch this one with morbid curiosity — or a stiff drink — if you’re a fan of either of these sides.

Bayer Leverkusen vs. Borussia Mönchengladbach

Watch: GolTV (USA and Canada); BT Sport 2 (UK)
These two sides, even on 23 points, will be looking to take advantage of what will surely be dropped points from Augsburg. Thirteen points out of first, neither will be under the illusion that they can fight for the title, but a Champions League place is almost as important. Expect Leverkusen to go all out, having embraced the Rodger Schmid mind-set, while Gladbach take their time, waiting to strike. With the host’s attacking prowess yet defensive weaknesses, this one could be a thriller.

Bundesliga Week 15 Schedule and Results

Friday, Dec. 12

Hoffenheim vs. Eintracht Frankfurt — 8:30 p.m. CET, 2:30 p.m. ET

Saturday, Dec. 13

Augsburg vs. Bayern Munich — 3:30 p.m. CET, 9:30 a.m. ET
Freiburg vs. Hamburger SV — 3:30 p.m. CET, 9:30 a.m. ET
Hertha Berlin vs. Borussia Dortmund — 3:30 p.m. CET, 9:30 a.m. ET
Schalke 04 vs. Köln — 3:30 p.m. CET, 9:30 a.m. ET
Werder Bremen vs. Hannover — 3:30 p.m. CET, 9:30 a.m. ET
Mainz 05 vs. Stuttgart — 6:30 p.m. CET, 12:30 p.m. ET

Sunday, Dec. 14

Bayer Leverkusen vs. Borussia Mönchengladbach — 3:30 p.m. CET, 9:30 a.m. ET
Wolfsburg vs. Paderborn — 5:30 p.m. CET, 11:30 a.m. ET

December 11, 2014 by : Posted in Uncategorized No Comments

Leave a Reply