2014 FCS playoffs bracket updated, with North Dakota State in the championship

For the fourth year in a row, the Bison are going to Frisco. Saturday, we find out who’ll join them.

One half of the 2014 Division I Football Championship is set, with No. 2 North Dakota State blasting Sam Houston State, 35-3, in Fargo, North Dakota.

The Bison, already just the second team to ever win three I-AA/FCS championships in a row (Appalachian State, 2005-2007), are now one game away from being the first to ever win four in a row. In fact, no team at any NCAA level has won four in a row since Division III Augustana College’s run from 1983 to 1986. The Bison also have a chance to move into a tie with Youngstown State for the country’s second-most FCS titles, with four.

But first, a game in Frisco, Texas against an opponent that might be a higher seed. They’ll find out who they’re getting Saturday at 2 p.m. ET on ESPNU, when No. 5 Illinois State visits No. 1 New Hampshire. It will be the first-ever FCS championship game for the winner, who’ll also have a chance at revenge; the Bison beat UNH and ISU by a combined 56 points last year.

Here’s how the Bison and their eventual opponents got here, via the NCAA:

December 20, 2014 by : Posted in Uncategorized No Comments

Leave a Reply