2014 college football awards tracker, from the Heisman to the centers one

Just kidding, Rimington Award. You are very important.

It’s college football awards season, which means all those watch lists you ignored in the offseason and those semifinalists watch lists you ignored during the season have finally produced actual finalists for trophies named after famous people!

While the Heisman Trophy, awarded on Saturday, is the big one, there’s also a college football trophy for pretty much any specific thing a person can do on a football field, short of officiating or delivering water. There are probably trophies for those, too.

And there are even more trophies than these. These are just the ones closest to being important, most would agree. We have not included a Coach of the Year trophy, because there are seemingly hundreds of them, with none emerging as particularly more important or prestigious than the others. As soon as there is a trophy to determine which of the Coach of the Year trophies is the most important, we will include that victor.

(Finalists listed, with winners bolded and italicized. We’ll update.)

All-America team

SB Nation’s own!

Heisman Trophy, overall

Amari Cooper, Alabama; Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin; Marcus Mariota, Oregon

Maxwell Award, overall

Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin; Marcus Mariota, Oregon; Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

Walter Camp, overall

Trevone Boykin, TCU; Amari Cooper, Alabama; Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin; Marcus Mariota, Oregon; Scooby Wright III, Arizona

Chuck Bednarik Award, defender

Vic Beasley, Clemson; Joey Bosa, Ohio State; Scooby Wright III, Arizona

Bronko Nagurski Award, defender

Malcom Brown, Texas; Landon Collins, Alabama; Senquez Golson, Ole Miss; Gerod Holliman, Louisville; Scooby Wright III, Arizona

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Trevone Boykin, TCU; Marcus Mariota, Oregon; Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

Doak Walker Award, running back

Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska; Tevin Coleman, Indiana; Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin

Biletnikoff Award, receiver

Amari Cooper, Alabama; Rashard Higgins, Colorado State; Kevin White, West Virginia

John Mackey Award, tight end

Nick O’Leary, Florida State

Rimington Award, center

Jack Allen, Michigan State; David Andrews, Georgia; BJ Finney, Kansas State; Andy Gallik, Boston College; Hroniss Grasu, Oregon

Vince Lombardi Award, lineman or linebacker

Vic Beasley, Clemson; Joey Bosa, Ohio State; Hau’oli Kikaha, Washington; Scooby Wright III, Arizona

Outland Trophy, interior lineman

Malcom Brown, Texas; Reese Dismukes, Auburn; Brandon Scherff, Iowa

Dick Butkus Award, linebacker

Eric Kendricks, UCLA; Hau’oli Kikaha, Washington; Denzel Perryman, Miami; Jake Ryan, Michigan; Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame

Jim Thorpe Award, defensive back

Landon Collins, Alabama; Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon; Gerod Holliman, Louisville

Lou Groza Place-Kicker Award

Roberto Aguayo, Florida State; Brad Craddock, Maryland; Josh Lambert, West Virginia

Ray Guy Award, punter

Tom Hackett, Utah; JK Scott, Alabama; Austin Rehkow, Idaho

Frank Broyles Award, assistant coach

Scott Frost, Oregon; Tom Herman, Ohio State; Lane Kiffin, Alabama; Dave Steckel, Missouri; Doug Meacham, TCU

December 11, 2014 by : Posted in Uncategorized No Comments

Leave a Reply